This article is for students in The Florence Nightingale Faculty of Nursing, Midwifery & Palliative Care.
For further support, contact us.

Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) allows successful applicants to selected degree or diploma courses to claim 'credit' for previous learning from elsewhere, either at another institution or in practice.

The previous learning must be relevant to the course applicants are applying for, and if their application is successful, the credit will count towards their chosen course of study.
Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) incorporates:

  • Recognition of prior certificated learning (RPCL), where learning has occurred through formal study at another higher education institution, within the last five years.
  • Recognition of prior experiential learning (RPEL), where learning is gained from personal and professional experience.
  • RPEL also includes certificated learning that occurred through formal study, either at King's or at another higher education institution, over five years ago.

You can learn more about accreditation of prior learning in the Accreditation Handbook 2022-23.



Which courses is RPL for?



Who can apply for RPL?



When can I apply for RPL?



How does the RPL process work at King's?