The university is open throughout the year Monday to Friday, including during term breaks. Some facilities, such as libraries, will also be open on weekends.

We are however, closed on official public holidays, known in the UK as ‘bank’ holidays, and we have a few other closure days throughout the year. On these days, university buildings will be closed and no services will be running.

However, if you're looking for study spaces during a vacation period, please refer to our article Where can I study on campus? which has the latest details and arrangements.


Closure dates for 2024 (calendar year):

  • New Year's Day: Monday 1 January
  • Good Friday: Friday 29 March
  • Easter Monday: Monday 1 April
  • Early May Bank Holiday: Monday 6 May
  • Spring Bank Holiday: Monday 27 May
  • Summer Bank Holiday: Monday 26 August
  • Christmas Day: Wednesday 25 December
  • Boxing Day: Thursday 26 December
  • University closure day: Tuesday 24 December
  • University closure day: Friday 27 December
  • University closure day: Monday 30 December
  • University closure day: Tuesday 31 December


Closure dates for 2025 (calendar year):

  • New Year's Day: Wednesday 1 January
  • Good Friday: Friday 18 April
  • Easter Monday: Monday 21 April
  • Early May Bank Holiday: Monday 5 May
  • Spring Bank Holiday: Monday 26 May
  • Summer Bank Holiday: Monday 25 August
  • Christmas Day: Thursday 25 December
  • Boxing Day: Friday 26 December
  • University closure day: Wednesday 24 December
  • University closure day: Monday 29 December
  • University closure day: Tuesday 30 December
  • University closure day: Wednesday 31 December

Important to know: These closure dates are separate to the academic year. These dates, including teaching dates and term breaks, can be found by visiting the Academic Calendar.